Town of Canaan

277 Main Street · PO Box 68 Canaan, Maine 04924

Select Board Meeting Minutes March 28, 2024 6:00pm

Canaan Town Office

Board Members Present: Jeffrey Clarke & Daniel Harriman

Board Members Absent: Megan Smith

Chairman Dan Harriman called the meeting to order at 6:00pm.

Minutes

Dan Harriman motioned to accept the minutes without reading aloud, seconded by Jeff Clarke.

New Business

Dan Harriman motioned to go into executive session to review a background check pursuant to 1 MRSA 405(6)(A) at 6:01pm, seconded by Jeff Clarke.

Dan Harriman motioned to come out of executive session at 6:04pm, seconded by Jeff Clarke.

Dan Harriman motioned to sign the pay raise requests, seconded by Jeff Clarke.

These are for the pay raises that went into effect at town meeting.

Dan Harriman motioned to make the appointments (attached), seconded by Jeff Clarke.

Jeff Clarke motioned to change the meeting days from Wednesdays to Mondays, seconded by Dan Harriman.

April meetings will be on the 8th and 22nd.

Dan Harriman motioned to go into executive session for a personnel matter pursuant to 1 MRSA 405(6)(A) at 6:26pm, seconded by Jeff Clarke.

Dan Harriman motioned to come out of executive session at 6:36pm, seconded by Jeff Clarke.

Dan Harriman motioned to accept Danielle McCormick's resignation effective April 20, 2024, seconded by Jeff Clarke.

Tax Collector/Treasurer

Dan Harriman motioned to sign the two Weekly Financial Reports, seconded by Jeff Clarke.

Dan Harriman motioned to sign the policy renewals, seconded by Jeff Clarke.

Phone

TOWN OF CANAAN

277 MAIN STREET PO Box 68 CANAAN, MAINE 04924

The policies are to make it so one selectperson can sign a warrant for payroll, one selectperson can sign a warrant for disbursement of state checks, and tax payments will be applied to the oldest outstanding tax year. These policies are renewed annually after the municipal election.

Dan Harriman motioned to approve Warrant #8A in the amount of \$76,290.26, seconded by Jeff Clarke.

Dan Harriman motioned to adjourn at 6:52pm, seconded by Jeff Clarke.

TOWN OF CANAAN

277 Main Street · PO Box 68 Canaan, Maine 04924

Name	Appointment
Vanessa Bean	Lake George Regional Park Member
Randy Bowden	Fire & Rescue Captain
Maureen Calder	Lake George Regional Park Member
Donald Chute	Solid Waste & Recycle Manager
Donald Chute	Solid Waste & Recycle Board Member
Cindy Clarke	Assistant General Assistance Director
Peter Clarke	State Fire Warden
Peter Clarke	Assistant Fire Chief
Cash Curtis	Alternate Planning Board Member
William Dawe	First Park Representative
William Dawe	Planning Board Member
Donald Decker	KVCOG General Assembly Official Representative
Donald Decker	Animal Control Officer
Donald Decker	Nuisance Wildlife Control Agent
Penny Deraps	Health Officer
Kate Gee	Lake George Regional Park Member
Randy Gray	Code Enforcement Officer
David Hart	Sexton
Lisa Holland	Planning Board Member
Mary-Anne MacArthur	Lake George Regional Park Member
Danielle McCormick	Tax Collector/Treasurer/Select Board Secretary
Jeffrey Peterson	Alternate Planning Board Member
Mark Philbrick	Lake George Regional Park Member
Dixie Ring	Library Director
Michael Robinson Jr	Deputy State Fire Warden
Michael Robinson Jr	Fire & Rescue Captain
Paula Robinson	Alternate First Park Representative
Megan Smith	KVCOG Member
Benjamin Snowman	EMS Administrator
Denise Stetkis	Excise Tax Collector
Charles Worcester	E-911 & Census Contact Officer
Charles Worcester	General Assistance Director
Charles Worcester	Deputy State Fire Warden
Charles Worcester	Emergency Management Director
Charles Worcester	Fire & Rescue Chief